Joint House Committee Ignores Survivor Testimony, Rejects CACR 22






Media Contact:

Amanda Grady Sexton (603) 548-9377


CONCORD – Today, a NH House Joint Committee of the Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee and Judiciary Committee voted 24-11 to ITL CACR 22, Marsy’s Law for New Hampshire. CACR 22 will now go before the full NH House of Representatives. 

After hearing hours of testimony from victims of crime, the committee chose to ignore their stories, their pain, and their clear need for constitutional rights. While we are deeply disappointed in today’s Committee vote, our efforts to enshrine crime victims’ rights in the state constitution do not stop here,” said Amanda Grady Sexton, State Director for Marsy’s Law for New Hampshire. “We’re grateful for the countless victims of crime that so bravely shared their stories and we will continue to fight alongside them to ensure victims and survivors are treated with dignity and respect. To all of the survivors in the Granite State - we see you, we’re with you, and we will never stop working to elevate your voices. New Hampshire has a long, bipartisan tradition of putting politics aside to do what’s right for victims of crime in our state and we hope the rest of the body is listening to constituents who want to see this commonsense amendment on the ballot in November.”


About Marsy’s Law for New Hampshire:

Marsy’s Law for New Hampshire represents two decades of advocates’ work to establish enforceable rights for victims of crime. In coordination with the NH Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence, Marsy’s Law for NH is a broad coalition of Granite Staters working to ensure that victims of crime in our state are treated with dignity, fairness, and respect and are provided with enforceable constitutional rights.

Follow Marsy’s Law for New Hampshire:

Twitter: @MarsysLawforNH #ML4NH Facebook: Marsy’s Law for New Hampshire Website: